Second Trimester Workouts

Have I said how much I hate the train?! My train was supposed to come at 7:15 and its 7:50 and its still not here yet. Ughh at least it’s not snowing. 

Anywho, let’s talk pregnancy workouts while I’m waiting. 

So far for the second trimester I’ve had my energy level back and have been able to keep up with my workouts for the most part. I’ve  still been running but now only about twice a week and only 2-4 miles (and pretty slow.) 

Here’s some pictures of Brendan and I doing a trail run last week:

   
 
And then we tossed the football around and took a bump update pic:

  
Now that Brendan’s marathon is over, we’ve been doing strength sessions together followed by mini crossfit type of circuits. (I use way lighter weights and modify a lot.)  For the most part I’ve been feeling pretty good. Today, however, is the first time I’ve felt like crap following a workout. 

We started with back squats. (These I love and hope to continue doing throughout my pregnancy)

   
 
I felt fine doing squats and side lunges. Then we went up to Harrigan’s Hangout for a little mini WOD. On today’s menu was 7 rounds of 7 cleans, 7 thrusters, and 7 over the bar burpees. I scaled the crap out of this one because I haven’t done thrusters in forever. (Also because there is only one bar up in that area so it’s a pain in the butt to switch weights for Brendan and I.)  So I used two twenty pound Dumbbells for the cleans and thrusters and then did modified burpees (lowering into plank and stepping out and in instead of jumping). And then after the first round I modified even further and grabbed the nearest weighted bar (it was like 10#) and used that for thrusters. I was just so tired and not feeling it today. 

 Hi pregnancy belly: 

  
Modified burpees:

 
I finished all 7 rounds and then had to sit down. I really didn’t feel well. I honestly think it was just the up and down of the burpees that didn’t agree with my body today. Even though I was doing super light weight, I still felt like I wanted to puke. 

So maybe no more burpees for me. I’ll stick to things that don’t make me feel sick. 

Listening to your body is the most important thing during pregnancy. And knowing when to stop takes a lot of courage. I know there are plenty of woman that do Crossfit throughout their entire pregnancy (some of my best friends!), but for me I need to scale it back a bit.  

Speaking of Crossfit, I went to brunch with my crossfit ladies from my old gym yesterday and it was so great to see them! I miss working out with the early birds every morning!

Ok train is finally here. I might make it to work by 9:30 today. Blahh.  I need a new job. 

Here’s hoping tomorrow’s workout goes better (I’ll keep you posted!)

Leave a Reply

