Working Out For Two

I have been so excited and anxious to write this post! Some of you already know (and others might have guessed from my lack of blogging/intense workouts/wine drinking)….that I am PREGNANT!!! We are expecting baby Harrigan to arrive end of March/beginning of April (my due date changes every time I see the doc.) I can’t begin to express how excited we are (I debated whether to write “I” or “we” there because I can’t stand when people say “we are pregnant”, but I am pregnant, WE are excited πŸ˜‰)

This is the post we used to announce on Facebook and Instagram:

We are SO excited to add another runner to the family 😊 Baby Harrigan due April 2016
Having a baby is something Brendan and I both wanted pretty much as soon as we got married. I can’t wait to raise a family together!  I know it’s going to be hard work and it’s not all rainbows and butterflies, but I am looking forward to the challenge and rewards of parenthood.

But before we even talk about parenthood, let’s talk about this pregnancy. Man oh man I am so happy that first trimester is over! I know everyone’s pregnancy is different, but I don’t think I was prepared for how not fun that would be. As many of you know, I am a very active person and enjoy working out and eating healthy (for the most part.). So I always envisioned myself having a “fit pregnancy” and being this glowing example of a healthy woman who works out, eats healthy and runs throughout her entire pregnancy. Well, I was wrong!!

Hello bacon egg and cheeses, nachos, crackers, chips. Ugh! I normally eat paleo-ish: a lot of veggies, meats, eggs, nuts and some whole grains with the occasional cheat meal. However, this first trimester I couldn’t stand salads/vegetables/meats- all I wanted was processed carbs. It’s funny how your body craves what you normally don’t have. At least that’s what happened for me. And on top of that, I’ve had all day nausea from weeks 6-12, so the only thing I could really hold down was crackers anyway.

To add to the not stellar eating, I had ZERO energy to go to the gym. If you’ve been reading my blog, you know that I still worked out a decent amount, but nothing like I used to. You probably also noticed that this blog was originally intended to track my progress for training for triathlons. However, my doctor advised me against triathlons during pregnancy. Now I realize that there are plenty of super moms out there who have competed in triathlons who are farther along in their pregnancies than me. But this is my first pregnancy and I’m still new to triathlons, so I’ll admit, I was nervous, and decided to heed my doctor’s advice. I’m sure I would have been fine, but I just didn’t want to risk it. So instead I ran when I was feeling good, lifted weights at the gym, and walked or slept in when I needed to.

I gained between 5-7 pounds my first trimester. I know some women don’t gain anything, but that wasn’t me. Oh well, as long as my baby is healthy, I’ve decided not to stress about how much I gain.

But NOW I’m at week 13, feeling better, and ready to get back on track! And can hopefully have a healthier second trimester.  This morning I hit the gym with Brendan and it felt so good to be back. πŸ’ͺ

We did a series of upper body machines



And then headed upstairs to Harrigans Hangout to do some power cleans.


  
It had been so long since I’ve touched the bar. And man did I miss it! I only did 3 sets of 10 at 65# and holy crap was I winded! I give so much credit to my friends who have done crossfit throughout their entire pregnancy- you guys are inspirational/crazy! For me, I need to ease back into my workouts and will modify/take it easy and just listen to my body. But I am excited to be entering my second trimester! And I am so happy that I can blog about the good , the bad, and the ugly parts to pregnancy and trying to stay fit.

So if you have no interest in reading about workouts while pregnant feel free to start following me again in April πŸ˜‰

Oh and let me leave you with a pic of the baby bump:

 Yay!

(I don’t want to end this post because I have so much to say and so many happy feelings- but I need to get off the train and I do have 6 more months to blog about it all πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

