Early Morning Motivation

So far this week I have successfully worked out every morning πŸ™‚ Its been a struggle the past few weeks to get myself up and moving, but this week I made it happen! I’ve been trying to make the earlier train, 6:19am (because it’s less crowded and usually more on time) And if I don’t workout in the morning, I’m pretty much a lost cause when I get home after work. My commute is an hour and a half- an hour 45″ each way (thank God I only commute 3 days a week!) so I’m usually out of the house for 11-12 hours/day just for work. So when I get home, I’m lucky if I take the dog for a walk- especially in these hot humid days of summer. It’s just so hard to motivate myself to workout then.  So this week I was determined to get a good sweat in every morning no matter what. 

Here’s a quick recap of workouts and breakfasts:

Monday: Gym for a leg workout (egg sandwich from coffee shop) πŸ˜€

Tuesday: 2 mile run, bowl of oatmeal w a scoop of PB

Wednesday: Upper body workout at the gym (I work at home on Wednesdays so I get to get a longer workout in) made egg sandwiches at home

Thursday: 2 mile run, oatmeal with PB and a glass of OJ

And tomorrow Brendan takes off from running so we’ll have a good long workout at the gym together πŸ™‚

Some tips for Running in the morning (when it’s still dark out):

-lay out clothes the night before (or better yet- sleep in them!)

-wear bright colored clothes

-wear some type of light/reflective thingy. (I have a neon light band that wraps around my arm that I love.)

– put your alarm across the room so you have to get up to turn it off

– make a new playlist so you have motivation to get out the door (unless you are like Brendan and don’t listen to music when you run. I need to- it covers the sound of my breathing.  when I hear myself breathing heavy, naturally I tell myself to slow down, but with music on, I just go off how I feel and don’t have my breathing noises psyching me out)

Doing these things helps me get out of bed at 4:45am, on the road by 5am, in the shower by 5:30, eating breakfast by 5:50, and out the door by 6. 

I know 2 miles isn’t a long distance ( for some people), but at least I get something in on my early days. And let me tell you, I feel a lot better after I do. It’s a great way to start the day, and then I don’t feel as guilty when I come home and just want to lay on the couch. 

Phew! Ok time to get off the train and head to work- couch time can’t come soon enough

Leave a Reply

