The Cure for anything is Salt Water- sweat, tears, or the sea

Hi there! Today is my Friday and I am pumped! My brother is getting married this weekend and I couldn’t be more excited πŸ™‚

I am in the wedding, so the next few days will be busy with getting nails done, rehearsal dinner, hair & makeup, and lots of drinks and dancing.

To balance out the fun filled weekend ahead of me, let’s talk about some of the workouts I’ve done the past few days.

I’ve been on-call for work- so I am always paranoid that I am going to get paged when I am out on a run or at the gym. So the workouts have to be modified a bit. Which worked out well this week since I did my mock- tri on Friday, I was planning on lighter workouts this week anyway.

On Monday morning I went to the gym with Brendan for an arm workout – we did a few machine lifts, then went upstairs to Harrigan’s Hangout for our own little mini-WOD. I did 4 rounds of 5 strict pull-ups (with a band), 10 hand release pull-ups, and 4 laps around the mini indoor track. (Brendan did 10-20-4, and still managed to finish before me).

Tuesday morning I got paged at 3:45 am and was up for an hour working on the issue, so sadly did not make it to the gym that morning. Work seemed to be extra stressful that day in the office, so I was very happy I packed clothes to run after work. It was just what I needed.



Running along the ocean is so therapeutic. Β  Made me forget about work for a bit.


However, that happy face didn’t last too long. When I got to my car after my hour long train ride I realized my scarf was hanging outside of my car door, and as a result the door was slightly propped open. Β (Don’t ask why I have a scarf in my car in July?!)


Notice the not so happy face…

My car wouldn’t start since the door had been open all day. I called Brendan to come save me and I sat miserable on my car trunk. Doesn’t it seem like these things only happen when you are already having a bad day?!

However, when Brendan got there, he tried turning on the car, and it started!

I couldn’t believe it- I was so mad- well happy it worked, but felt bad I made Brendan come to my rescue for no reason. Ugh! Sorry love!

Needless to say, I needed to relax that night


And Brendan made one of my favorite dinners- shrimp!


All was well with the world again πŸ™‚

Yesterday was leg day at the gym. We did squats, leg extension, and a few other leg machines Β before Brendan hit the road running (he’s crushing marathon training). I stayed at the gym and did a few more leg exercises including lateral weighted lunges and split legged lunges off a bench. Then I headed upstairs for a solo WOD. I did 5 rounds of 10 power cleans (65#) and 2 laps. I was in a cranky mood that morning, so this WOD was just what I needed to snap me out of my funk.

A good sweat always makes me smile πŸ™‚

And this morning, I just went for a quick hilly 2 miler and it was the perfect start to the day.



Now I just have to get through the workday and then let the wedding weekend begin!!

Leave a Reply

