What I Learned This Weekend

Hi! It’s Monday. And I was determined not to have a repeat of last Monday. So even though I had to trek into the office early again today, instead of skipping the workout completely, I just modified it. I was able to squeeze in a 35″ bike ride before a quick shower, breakfast, and lunch prep before heading out the door at 6:45am!

It was a little foggy this morning but it made the ride more invigorating! It’s thrilling to not know what’s around the corner!

(Jk I know that’s dangerous, but I had my blinking lights on, and pedaled as fast as I could through that fog. But it was a great way to get the heart pumping and fight through the fog in my head!)

  

In addition to “how to fight the Monday fog”, here are two  other things I learned this weekend:

1. Foam rolling works wonders for IT band issues

2. Peppermint, lavender, and lemon essential oils are a magic trick for allergies

I’ll write more on each lesson learned later. But trust me, if you find yourself like this after a run or bike :

…hop on a foam roller and roll the s*#@ out of that sore leg! It will be painful, and you might scream out a few explicits, but trust me, it will be so worth it. I could hardly walk up the stairs yesterday morning, but after a solid roll and stretch session, I was as good as new!

Foam rolling (and stretching in general) is one of those things that I know I should do, but rarely ever do. But after seeing the miracle that rolling had on my IT band flare up yesterday, I am determined to make this part of my workout regime in order to not only treat but also prevent future injuries.

As for the allergy relief, this was another all natural miracle cure for me this weekend! I was miserable on Friday- sneezing, running nose,headache. So I contacted my friend Jackie (the one in Hawaii who introduced me to Essential oils) and asked if she had any recommendations. She said to try lavender, peppermint, and lemon.

lemon-lavender-peppermint

I put a drop of each in the palm of my hands, rubbed my hands together, then inhaled deeply into my hands a few times.

I am not kidding, this immediately cleared up my nose and I could breathe normally again! And it lasted for the rest of the afternoon. I did the same thing before I went to bed, also sprayed my sheets with some lavender, and I slept through the night without waking up to blow my nose a million times!

I am all about natural remedies instead of opting for drugs/medications whenever possible. So discovering the wonders of foam rolling and essential oils for me this weekend was a plus!

And let’s end this post with a picture of my favorites:

Ok that’s it 🙂 Happy Monday! Fight the fog!

Leave a Reply

